Striking up conversations

Often times during boot camp I strike up conversations with unsuspecting individuals.  If you engage me in conversation watch out because I’ll chat away. I am constantly on the lookout to find someone interesting who’d be willing to go for a run with me.  Don’t get me wrong I enjoy the solitude while running alone, but I think I’d also enjoy running along side someone too.

I’m glad I started talking to this one woman who is also a runner.  She let me know about a running club in the area that does their long runs on Sunday mornings.  I have been searching the Internet researching running clubs and every one that I came across meets for long runs on Saturday mornings.  Saturday mornings do not fit into my schedule because my husband leaves for work and I have two small children who need me.  So when I heard about a group of people who meet on Sunday mornings I was intrigued.  I got the name of the club and I checked them out online.  Their website was very informative and the recommendations on their facebook page were outstanding.  The glowing reviews of the club and its runners definitely make me excited to give it a try.  They meet at 6:30 in the morning during marathon training season.  So if I can get my ass out of bed I will be joining them tomorrow.

It must be my lucky week because I also met a fellow runner after a run at my local arboretum where I go several times a week.  It was 6:00 p.m. as I was finishing a 4.5mile run and as I opened my car door, ripped off my Fuel belt and let out a huge “Ugh!” the women at the car next to me asked, “How many miles?” and that’s all that was needed to get me engaged in a conversation.  She shared with me a little about her Weight Watchers journey.  We also discovered that we both started running around the same time last year and that we have both been at several of the same races.  We exchanged numbers and emails with the intention to run together in the future.

There’s a lot of potential running fun in my future.  I’ll keep you posted.

Have you ever met anyone while working out or running?  How did it pan out?

This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Striking up conversations

  1. nancim72 says:

    Hi there! I’m new to your blog… I am a “new-ish” runner myself. I love it and I did my first half marathon back in February. I also did a 5k and an 8k. I’m doing a 10k next month and another half in November. I’m hooked. I look forward to reading more about your journey! 🙂

Leave a Reply

