Running Group Update

Back in July I went beyond my comfort zone and ventured out alone to try a long run with a local running club.  This was the first time I set an alarm and got out of bed early to venture out for a run.  It was more common for me to go out whenever I happened to wake up in the mornings or to wait to do my runs in the evenings.

To say that I am glad I got my ass out of bed that morning is an understatement.  Previously I had been doing my long runs alone.  They were challenging and worst of all felt long and hard.  After running with this group for the first time I was hooked.  This long run not only went by fast but this hilarious group of people also entertained me the entire 2 hours. I haven’t missed a week with the pack since I joined.  Unless I had a race scheduled of course.

Getting up early on Sunday mornings has given me the push I needed to schedule my midweek runs in the wee hours of the morning as well.  This has cleared up my schedule in the evenings and has allowed me to have more time for relaxing after my girls are go to bed.  And who doesn’t need more relaxing time?

There are several other perks to knowing these lovely runners.  I now have peeps to peer pressure me to run some extra miles or run a race I may not have otherwise ran.  They are also a wealth of running information.  I am constantly annoying asking them with my newbie runner questions. Every week when we converse I learn new details about each of these people that adds to their awesomeness.

It’s 4 months later and I have been consistently running with this amazing pack of runners.  They welcomed me with open arms.  They have given me so much, but most of all they have given me a place to belong.   Thanks pack!

This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Running Group Update

  1. kilax says:

    Yay! Running clubs rock! So happy you found a great one! 🙂

  2. I love running with a running buddy. The run does go by so fast with friends.

Leave a Reply

