2013 Running Goals

clk_0344Recently on Twitter I’ve been reading about how people are currently planning out their 2013 race schedules.  Already?  I’m fairly new to the running scene and apparently I spent the last year signing up for races haphazardly.   Last year the only real plan I had was to train and run the Chicago Half Marathon.  This year I have some serious running related goals in mind.  So I’m going get on board with all you other running crazies and start planning 2013.

I’d like to run at least one race a month beginning in March.  However, my friends can easily talk me into running any race so I’m also okay with running more than one race a month?  Where?  Sign me up!

I have only run one 10K.  Last April my goal was to finish in under an hour.  I was super thrilled when I ran it in 57:49.  I’ve lost count how many 5Ks I have ran and I am getting faster and faster each time.  I am hoping the same will be true of my upcoming 10K times.  There’s only one way to find out and that’s to run some more 10Ks, which is definitely in the plans for 2013.

As far as my 5K racing goes I’d like to set another PR.  Who wouldn’t, right?!  There has only been one time where I ran a 5K slower than a subsequent one.  It always amazes me how fast I can run these races since I never train that fast.  Something about racing must bring out the fast in me.  Relatively speaking of course.  My current PR is 24:31.  I’d love to see a 23 at the beginning of that PR, but I’ll take any improvement with a smile.

I ran my first half marathon last year.  Even though I know you’re not suppose to set a time goal for your first race of any distance, I still fantasized about running it in under 2 hours.  I came so close at 2:00:49.  I would love to run a sub 2 hour half marathon next year.

Last but definitely not least, I will run my first marathon in 2013.  This is the only race, which I already know the specifics.  I will run the Chicago Marathon.  I cannot tell you how excited I am to begin training.  I can hardly wait, but it seems so far in the distant future.

I may not have registered yet for any races in 2013, but I now have an outline of what I want to accomplish.  Here I come 2013!

Do you have your race schedule planned for next year? 

This entry was posted in About me, running. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to 2013 Running Goals

  1. brooke says:

    sub 2 is definitely on my goal next year – but i’m not quite as close to it as you (2:07 PR)

  2. Tavia says:

    I’m pretty sure making a 2013 running calendar is a runner’s way of trying to cover up our “craziness” – it makes all of our running justified in our head’s. We’re always running because we are always training for something, right?! I’m with you on having set a goal for 2013 (5 half’s) and have signed up for a couple “must-have-halves” already. Other than that, I will see where other races fall and go from there. Can’t wait to read how your year goes 🙂

  3. Maggie says:

    Last December, I tried to put together my 2012 racing schedule (at least through the marathon in October). It was already a lot of races, and then throughout the year, I would throw in an additional race here or there, because my friends were doing it … basically, I think I overdid it a little bit in 2012. I’m already making plans for 2013, but my goal is to NOT overdo it. If you have a big goal (like doing your first marathon), it’s good to plan in advance, but I learned not to register for SO many races so far in advance. For 2013, I’m just registering now (or soon) for the few races that I really want to do, and leaving my race calendar somewhat open so I can register throughout the year for the races my friends end up doing without overloading myself.

    • Anne says:

      Good advice. I don’t want to over do it.

      • Maggie says:

        Now my plan is, unless it’s a race that sells out quickly, I put off registering for any race. I figure if a few weeks/months go by and I still want to do it, then I’ll do it. I might miss out on some early bird deals, but better to lose out on $5 than $60+ for registering for a race I end up not really wanting to do. This year, I registered for a lot of races as quick decisions and kind of regretted it later, because I was getting burned out, or I discovered another race on the same day or close to the date that looked better, etc. The races will still be there. And there will be other races if one sells out.

        Gee, maybe I should write a blog post about this! 🙂

      • Anne says:

        Definitely write a blog post about it. Because I could see myself getting into that predicament.

  4. Tavia says:

    My “must-have-halves” are the Egg Shell 1/2 in Schaumburg because it will be a friend of mine’s FIRST half – can’t wait to run it with her! And the other is the Fox Valley Half. My other 2013 “must have” is the Fort2Base run – not quite a half at 11.5 miles but it has to be my favorite run I’ve done over the past 4 years of running (and it’s not even in my neighborhood!)!

  5. Gingerfoxxx says:

    The only races i plan in advance are marathons. They take a little bit of preparation, so i like to know it’s coming. Everything else kind of sneaks in serendipitously. Or is there’s a schwaggle! Who doesn’t love a deal??

  6. Marcia says:

    You certainly do have a good outline for 2013! I really only commit early if the race will sell out fast or if there’s a super good deal. So far I’ve got nada for 2013. I’m going old school and wanna do lots of 5k since I’m burned out on marathons, Chi was my first as well! You’ll love it!

  7. This was my first year really racing and running. I signed up for a few haphazardly too lol but the marathon was planned and trained for! I’m planning on another marathon next April in OKC!

  8. Wow, you’re so fast! My goal this year is to get a sub 30 5k, and to run 13 half marathons (some virtual) and MAYBE a marathon. Maybe.
    The Chicago marathon sounds like fun!

  9. Army Amy says:

    Great goals! I’ve never run Chicago, but I’ve heard nothing but good things about it! Best of luck as you take on your training!*

  10. kilax says:

    You had a great year! And excited you are going to do your first full in 2013!

    No goals races for me yet. So far, I am just planning on registering for two 5Ks and a HM that I always do. Then I sign up for things as I feel like it, or as I plan it with friends.

Leave a Reply

