Cross Training Boot Camp Style

Last year around this time my friend posted on Facebook that she was at boot camp.  I noticed the boot camp she was at was less than 3 miles from where I live.  This prompted me to ask her all about it.  At that point running was my only form of exercise.  I was loving my running accomplishments, but I wasn’t seeing much improvement in the over all tone of my upper body.  I knew I needed to start cross training, but at home exercise DVDs were just not cutting it.  I needed a place to go, a new routine and the social aspect of working out with other people.  A boot camp close to home sounded perfect. After researching the place a little further I noticed thay had classes pretty much all day every 45 minutes.  Not only was the place close to my home, but I could definitely fit it into the limited windows of my current schedule.  My friend told me to hold off a week before signing up because they were going to run a Groupon.  When I saw the Groupon for $55 for three months of unlimited boot camp classes I immediately bought it.

It’s been a year since I have been going to boot camp at least twice a week sometimes 3 times a week.  I love the circuit style of training that combines a bit of cadio with tons of strength training exercises. After only 40 minutes in the gym I easily feel like I’ve gotten a great workout.  I have noticed many great changes in myself too.  My body is much more toned and I am way stronger than I was a year ago.  I can lift heavier weights and my endurance level has increased too.

If you’re looking to try out a boot camp these are some things I’ve learned from my experiences.

  1. Not all circuts are the same:  Make sure your trainer really knows how to design their circuits to help you get the most of the workout.  If I am gving it my all I can tell when one day’s circuit is harder/easier than another.  It’s ok to have easy days, but make sure that they are not always easy days. I find the circuits that contain some cardio stations really challenge me.
  2. Variety is good:  After a year of boot camp I am still being introduced to new exercises and modifications.  Don’t get me wrong there are things that are standard and repeated, but I’m often surprised by something new my trainer introduces.
  3. You get out of it what you put into it:  If you’re constantly giving up before the whistle blows or not exerting yourself 100% during each station then you won’t get the best workout possible.  On my good days I push myself the entire time and I don’t quit until the time is up.
  4. Meeting new people is fun:  I keep a pretty standard schedule at boot camps so I start to see some of the same people over and over again.  It’s nice to have friends to talk or commiserate with while you’re working out.  I also found out about my current running club by just chatting with someone else while we worked out.

If you’ve ever thought about trying some cross training I recommend giving boot camp a try.

What do you do for cross training?

This entry was posted in Exercising. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

