The Journey to Disney World

I know this is a running blog, but I experienced an amazing trip to Disney that I can’t wait to share with you.  I promise I’ll write about the ups and downs of running while on vacation, but bear with me while I fill you in on the awesomeness that was my trip to Disney World!

Full disclosure:  I did not pay one dime for my family’s trip to Disney World.  The trip including hotel accommodations, airfare and meals were generously provided by my father-in-law and mother in-law to celebrate their 50th wedding anniversary.  They treated their entire family to join them at Disney.  There were eleven of us total.

Day One: part one

We arrived at the airport with plenty of time to spare.  My sister-in-law was on the same flight with us. It is always helpful to have an extra adult to manage my 2 kids.  My husband checked our baggage with the skycaps outside because there was a slue of Navy officers waiting in line inside at check-in.  They provided a nice view, but weren’t much help in making for a quick check-in for us.   Once our luggage was checked-in at the airport we were not going to see it again until it was delivered to our room at the Grand Floridian.  I was a little apprehensive about surrendering my baggage, but when it arrived safely at our resort later that evening I was grateful for how easy it was not to have to worry about collecting 3 huge suitcases from the turn styles at the Orlando airport.  The perks of this Disney trip are just beginning.

IMG_2687Next off to security, which wasn’t too much of hassle.  I always hate taking off my outer layers and going shoeless, but you do what you have to do.  As we were making our way to the gate my SIL informed me that there is no Starbucks at Chicago Midway Airport.  What the hell?! Really?  Ugh, what a bummer. I guess we’ll have to wait until we get to Orlando for our fix.  If anyone knows the reason why there is no Starbucks at this airport please let me in on the info because there had better be a good reason.

IMG_2689After boarding the plane we now had to entertain and keep our children happy for the next 2.5 hours.  Luckily my sister-in-law sat with my oldest (5 years old) and kept her content for the entire flight.  My youngest (2 years old) was quite a challenge.  She kept opening and closing the window shade, kicking the seat backs, playing with the tray table and peeping in on the people in back/front of us. You know all the annoying things people dread when they are seated near a child on a flight.  This was her first airplane experience so I am blaming her natural curiosity.  I spent most of the flight trying to manage my youngest who somehow needed to use the washroom 3 times during the flight.  Thank god the flight was a short one because we wouldn’t have made it any longer than 2.5 hours.  We were ready to get to Disney.

We got off the plane and went to the line for the Disney Express bus, which takes you from the airport to your resort.  We didn’t have to worry about getting our luggage.  Instead we just got on the bus and twenty minutes later ended up at the Grand Floridian

I promise there’s more to come.  I will definitely have to break this into a few posts in order to avoid it from becoming too long.

This entry was posted in vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

