I Forgot My Head Lamp

Now that vacation is over, it’s time to get back to my usual workout routine.  You know the routine that requires me to get out of bed while the moon is still out and run a nice 4 miles.  This morning was my first early run since vacation.  I knew I would go, but I was not looking forward to it like I usually do because I was going solo.  My usual running friend had another early morning commitment.  Boo!  Hiss!  After my alarm rang I forced myself out of bed to the bathroom where I have my huge pile of winter running clothes waiting for me.  I got dressed, went down stairs to finish decking myself out with all my running accessories.  It’s amazing how many things I need to run comfortable in the winter.  I need my hat, gloves, Spibelt, neck gator, Garmin, Phone/iPod and my earphones.

IMG_2967I headed out the door and began running on the tree-lined sidewalk across the street from my house.  That’s when I realized I forgot my headlamp.  I decided it would be too much trouble to go back inside the house and chance riling the dog up and/or waking up the kids.  So I continued on without it.

Everything was going fine until I got to the really dark tree-lined hilly sidewalk part of my usually run.  Here I began miss stepping and tripping because I couldn’t see where I was going.  Then when I got to the part of the same sidewalk strip that had less trees I was blinded by the headlights from the oncoming cars.  At this point I had to put my hand up over my eyes and look to down to shield myself from the blinding lights.

It was at this point in the run when a biker came around the corner and scared the sh!t out of me.  I screamed and then made an abrupt stop that hurt my right shin a bit.  Thank god nothing else worse happened to me or to the biker.  While I ran off feeling like a huge idiot I profusely yelled over my shoulder “sorry” until he/she was out of earshot.

IMG_2532I learned the hard way that a headlamp is indeed important.  So yeah, it’s important to see where you are going when running in the dark.  Where have a heard that before?

Have you ever forgotten something when you went out for a run?  Did you go back or do without?

This entry was posted in running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I Forgot My Head Lamp

  1. RunToInspire says:

    the best thing about running in winter is all the gear!!

    • Anne says:

      I seriously spent an arm and a leg getting prepared for winter running. Hopefully it won’t be so bad next year. But yeah I liked buying it!

  2. Carmen says:

    ooooo, I hate that moment when you realize you forgot something and you have to launch into the mental battle of risking going back in for it or not. I’m bad about remembering my headlamp/light 😦 At least I always have something reflective on, which doesn’t help me see, but should help me be seen….not always though. I need to work on that area.

Leave a Reply

