This giving up sugar thing is hard yo!

IMG_2957Remember when I declared that I was going to eliminate the excess sugar from my diet?  Well it’s been a week since the torture began.  We got home from our Disney vacation last week and went through out cabinets and refrigerator/freezer and removed any temptations.  My husband and I made sure to shove a few last holiday cookies and candies in our mouths while we were doing this and it was satisfyingly disgusting. We threw most of the sweets in the house away, but anything unopened we placed in the back of our garage freezer.  I just couldn’t toss the frozen cookie dough from my dinner club or the unopened boxes of Fannie Mae candies.  Obviously I still have a problem.

That night we went to bed in a self-induced sugar coma to awake the next morning to our sugarless intentions.  Day 1 through day 3 was awful for me.  I thought about cookies, chocolate and ice cream all day long.  Thinking about how I would rather eat sweets than do anything else.  I was going out to get a pedicure and the nail salon happens to be next to a Dunkin’ Donuts.  I actually thought about forgoing my pedicure to sit in Dunkin’ Donuts alone shoving donut hole after donut hole in my mouth.  I didn’t but boy did I play that scenario out in my head.  When I got home the only way out of my sugar craving hell was to brush my teeth and go to bed early.

Day 4 and 5 were a little better.  This was when I realized the patterns of my bad habits.  I would only have cravings at the times when I usually would eat sweets.  When I drove to work all I could think about was having a slice or two (Yes, two.  Don’t judge.) of banana bread.  Then at work when I went to the lunchroom there were chocolates (everyone’s holiday discards) just sitting out on the table waiting to be devoured.  Luckily there were other people around so I was able to contain myself.  I moved the sweets to the other table and sat down and had my lunch.  I also noticed that I craved something sweet when I would make dinner for my daughters.  I’m usually hungry at the time too so I would shove a cookie or candy in my mouth to hold me over until I made dinner for myself after my girls would go to bed.  The hardest one to over come was after dinner.  No matter how full I am after dinner I want to finish off the meal with a sugary dessert.  It’s at this point that I go upstairs brush my teeth and call it a day.

Finally by day 6 I was doing ok.  The cravings have been less frequent and less hellish.  I have also come up with a few coping strategies to help me.  I already mentioned brushing my teeth and going to bed, but I also have been eating fresh fruit at the times while I would usually grab something sugary.  Apples dipped in raw almond butter as well as blueberries and strawberries on top of homemade cereal have gotten me through some of the tougher cravings.

Today is day 7 and I feel like I’m doing great.  It’s the late afternoon and I haven’t had any major cravings yet.  It helps that my husband, sister-in-law and a friend are all joining in my misery.  I have tons of support all around me, which really means having people to bitch at when it get hard who will listen and totally understand my bitching during this process is necessary.

I hope that I can make this a lifestyle change and not just a month long experiment.  I do not want to fall of the wagon into a big mountain of sugar again.  The next step is to make a plan after this plan concludes.  Wish me luck.

Have you given up sugar?  How did you make it to the other side?  Or are you in the midst of it like me?

This entry was posted in Diet. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to This giving up sugar thing is hard yo!

  1. strawberryjamntoast says:

    Aah, I feel your pain – I was inspired by your original sugar blog post and decided to give up cakes, chocolate, biscuits and sweets for the month of January and, wow, is it hard! But it’s now a third of the way through the month – yay! Well done so far and keep going!

  2. Army Amy says:

    I haven’t given up sugar, but I am trying to eat healthier. (My husband has to stay in shape for his job, so we are doing it together.) I never thought about the fact that some of my eating habits are behavior habits. That 3 pm chips and salsa craving is something I feel because it’s part of my routine to eat chips and salsa at 3 pm every day. Lightbulb! So now how do I go about changing it? I guess I need new habits, new routines. Food for thought!*

  3. jfoyohealth says:

    I gave up sweets right when I started my whole life change. At first I only wanted sweet and chips even more because I cut them out. Slowly but surely, the cravings all went away. To be honest it got to a point where I did want them at all. Now I’m at a place where I can have a piece of cake or just one Hershey Kiss and it’s okay. I’m sure you’ll kill this and do awesome.

Leave a Reply

