Disney Denial

IMG_5420I will be the first to admit that I was not looking forward to this trip.  I tend to freak out a bit when our routines are interrupted and I knew this trip would be a colossal interruption of those daily routines.  I didn’t even want to begin to think about the air travel, missed naps, hotel sleeping arrangements and how it all would affect my children’s behavior so I just blocked it out.  When the Disney count down calendar my sister-in-law made for my daughters started to read single digits I literally began to panic.  Thinking about packing for my two daughters and myself caused me to hyperventilate.

Not only was packing causing me to majorly stress out, but so was traveling on a airplane and then a bus with a 2 year old.  I knew my 5 year old would be fine, but my little one can sometimes be a challenge. I was not looking forward to dealing with a potentially kicking and screaming little girl while riding in the confines of an airplane or bus.

Oh and the actual “vacation” part at Disney did not sound anything like a vacation to me.  Sleepless nights, no naps, long lines and sporadic fits were in my future and I was not looking forward to it.  Rather I was dreading it with my entire being.

I’m thrilled to say that things definitely turned around and we enjoyed one of the most amazing and magical family vacations possible.  I’ll fill you in on how our VIP guides made it happen.  Stay tuned.

Have you ever dreaded a vacation?

This entry was posted in postpartum depression, vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

