Permission To Cheat

IMG_2062I’m 3 weeks plus into my eliminate the excess sugar from my diet challenge.  I’m proud to say that I haven’t cheated once.  It really has not gotten any easier.  Yes the cravings are less, but that’s not to say that they are easy to handle when they do happen.  I’m pretty even keeled until after dinner when I feel like I NEED a treat.  My strategy is to eat some fruit or just brush my teeth and go to bed.

I’ve decided that my plan after January is to have one cheat day a week.  I will make Sundays my cheat day because that is my long run day.  I figure my body can handle the extra calories after running 10 or so miles.

I have been fantasizing about what I will have for my first Sunday in February. I have been looking forward to getting a Starbucks Green Tea Latte. Do you know that those suckers have 55 grams of sugar in a grande?  I usually get it unsweetened/no syrup, but I’m guessing it’s still 30-40 grams of sugar without it.  I had been drinking these 2-3 times a week since I received a lot of gift cards from the holiday season.  Starbucks must be wondering where I have been these past few weeks. I have a free drink coupon waiting to be used too.

Here are the things I plan on indulging on each Sunday for the next month.

  1. Green tea latte
  2. Pretzel bark
  3. Chocolate hazelnut gelato from a local shop
  4. Nutella on wheat thin crackers

After my month long sugar hiatus I think I am detoxed enough to work in a treat day each week and continue my healthy eating the rest of the week.

Do you have a favorite sweet treat?

This entry was posted in Diet. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

