Healthy Cold Breakfast Cereal

IMG_3006My sister-in-law gave me a zip-lock bag of homemade cereal a while back that was super tasty.  I asked her for the recipe and she sent me this link from the Healthy Home Economist.  After reading the ingredient list I thought I could easily make this myself after one quick trip to the store.  When I came home from the store I read the directions more closely and I realized that making this cereal was going to take a little longer than I thought.  After the first step of combining the yogurt and flours the recipe says to wait 24 hours before adding the rest of the ingredients.  No big deal because the recipe was still easy and I was just going to have to be a little more patient than I originally anticipated.

IMG_2990First I added the almond flour, coconut flour and yogurt (I used plain non-fat Greek yogurt) together and stirred them by hand in a large glass bowl.  After already doing this by hand my sister-in-law informed me that mixing it in the stand mixer would be much easier, which is what I will definitely do next time.

IMG_2998The next day I put the batter in the stand mixer and added the rest of the ingredients.  Coconut oil, honey, salt, baking soda, vanilla extract and cinnamon were easily added and mixed with my Kitchen Aid.

IMG_3001Next I took the thick batter and spread it out on the bottom on of my jellyroll pan.  I did have some excess that I put in an 8×8 Pyrex dish.  I baked both in the over at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.  I took the pans out and let them cool.

IMG_3002  After the cereal was cool I took my plastic spatula and broke it up into little pieces.

IMG_3004The recipe told me to put the cereal back in the over for 24 hours on 200 degrees to dehydrate the pieces.  I found that the cereal was perfect after about 7 hours in the over.  However, I did use a ¼ of a cup less of honey (that’s all I had at home) so maybe that’s why it didn’t take as long, but I can’t imagine 24 hours is a good idea.  I’d recommend checking in on the dehydration process periodically so that your cereal doesn’t burn.

IMG_3007The end product is a really yummy crunchy and healthy breakfast cereal. I enjoyed a bowl this morning and it kept me feeling full for most of the morning.

Do you have any unique healthy recipes you make?

This entry was posted in Diet. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Healthy Cold Breakfast Cereal

  1. kilax says:

    What a cool idea! I have made homemade crackers before… I should try this too!

  2. RunToInspire says:

    oh interesting, I wonder if i can make this without the yogurt as that’s not paleo.
    hmmm.
    Experiments this weekend!!

  3. Anne says:

    I’ve been making granola and to soak it I used coconut oil, can of coconut milk, apple cider vinegar and water. I imagine you could use something like that instead of the yogurt.

Leave a Reply

