My foot hurts, damn it!

A wise runner friend once said to me “You’re a runner, be open to injury.”  Oh no, she didn’t.  I’m immune to injury.  I can run hundreds of miles and my body will cooperate.  I guess I had this perspective because I’ve only been a runner for a little over a year and a half.  That’s apparently not enough time to become and expert at being injured.  Thank god.

Now you can understand why when my right foot started to bother me a few weeks ago I was in denial.  I had just run 16 miles, my longest distance to date.  I was also trying out a new pair of shoes.  Yes, let’s blame the new pair of shoes.  I promptly changed back to my previous pair of shoes and spent the week stretching, rolling and periodically stretching my foot.  Luckily my foot was feeling fine by the end of the week.

Then I went out and ran 20 miles.  You know because I am “training” for the Personal Marathon a.k.a. the Sketchy Marathon.  Later that day my left foot began to bother me in the exact same way my right foot hurt the week before.  Well I can’t blame the shoes this time because I haven’t put them back on since last week. This week I have been nursing my left foot.  Again I’m stretching, rolling and running my midweek runs short and slow.  Only this time I’m not sure it’s helping.

I’m not sure what to do next. I’m hoping that the discomfort will ease up by the weekend.  Maybe this is wishful thinking or maybe it’s denial.  Time will tell.

This entry was posted in injuries, running. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My foot hurts, damn it!

  1. Mary says:

    Having run long distance for six years, if it were me without hesitation I would take a solid week off from running. Seriously. Even if I was training. You will not lose your base level of fitness.

Leave a Reply

