“Rest” My Foot Plan

IMG_3150

I haven’t run since last Wednesday.  This is killing me.  My left foot still has arch pain.  I know the smart thing to do is to rest, stretch and roll my foot until it feels better, so that is what I will force myself to do.  Smart, but definitely not easy.

The bad news is that I have a half marathon scheduled for this Sunday.  My plan is to rest up enough so that I can run it.  This is what my week with very limited running will look like.

Monday: Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred Level Two

Tuesday: Boot Camp class

Wednesday:  Run 1 slow treadmill mile & Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred Level Three

Thursday: Boot Camp class

Friday:  Run 3.5 slow easy miles outside

Saturday:  Rest

Sunday: March Madness Half Marathon

To summarize Jillian Michaels, boot camp and I will be best friends this week.  I figure I can try running for the first time in one week on Wednesday. I’ll run no more than a mile and see how I feel the next day.  If everything is ok with my foot then I will attempt a longer run on Friday.  I figure a rest day on Saturday is needed since I will be trying to run a hilly half marathon the next day.

We all know that this plan can derail at anytime if my foot starts giving me problems.  And it’s in the back of my head that I might need to drop out of this half marathon if my foot thinks it isn’t a good idea.

Being “injured” (not willing to fully admit it yet) sucks!

How do you deal with injury?

This entry was posted in Exercising, injuries, Races, running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “Rest” My Foot Plan

  1. Pete B says:

    Not well. 🙂 I try and stay positive and try not to think about it constantly, but that doesn’t always work! Hope your foot feels 100% for your half on Sunday!

  2. Sarah says:

    Rest, work other muscle groups, go for walks…but I never was injured THAT bad so guess I have had it easy (knock on wood)

  3. Pingback: The Next Step | Found Myself Running

Leave a Reply

