The Next Step

My plan to rest my foot last week went a bit awry.  I did my 1 mile (turned into 2 miles) test run last Tuesday and it did not go well.  The next day the arch of my left foot was still uncomfortable.  I surrendered and made an appointment with the podiatrist.  I also set up a short consultation with a massage therapist.  As the week progressed I decided not to try my planned longer run on Friday and I also dropped out of running the half marathon I had scheduled to race on Sunday.  Since my appointment was on Monday I didn’t want to jack up my foot too much before seeing the doctor.

2 weeks of foot pain is a serious downer.  And everyone has a different diagnosis of why I might be suffering.  So of course I Googled them all.  I began trying everything Google suggested I do to make my foot stop hurting.  I rested, rolled, stretched, iced, heated and medicated. One suggestion that really seemed to turn things around was paying close attention to my calf and massaging, rolling and stretching it out.  I did this for 4 days and each day my foot was feeling progressively better.

A trip to the doctor for a definitive answer and treatment plan was the next step. After seeing the podiatrist and getting an x-ray it has been determined that my pain is not a fracture or break, but rather soft tissue.  The plan is to do what I have already been doing, which is fine by me.  I will religiously warm up, do my stretches, ice and slowly add on time/distance to my runs as I feel comfortable. I may also try running in a shoe with a little more stability.

Today I will attempt to run a few miles on the treadmill and see how my foot feels.  I hope to be back to my 20-25 miles per week routine sooner than later.

This entry was posted in injuries, running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Next Step

  1. Pete B says:

    Good to hear your foot issue was not a fracture/break. Sorry to hear you had to take a pass on your half. I missed a half earlier this year because of an injury. “Injury jail” is not a fun place to be, but good to hear you are still able to run per your doctor. I find that 3 to 4 weeks of complete rest heals most of my running related injuries. Then I try to correct the reasons I got injured (sometimes successfully)! 🙂 Good luck.

  2. So sorry you had to drop out of your half! I know what a downer that is. I had to drop out of marathon training due to hamstrings. I was incredibly bummed. Hoping your foot feels better soon!

  3. Anne says:

    I was ok with dropping out of the half. It’s the marathon in 3 weeks that I really want to run. So far so good. Things are looking up.

Leave a Reply

