My Short Affair With Newtons

IMG_2955After 2 weeks of virtually no running my foot was back to normal.  I was able to run almost 30 miles this past week with no problems.  I have been warming up, stretching and doing my post run icing and stretching without fail.  I mentioned in my last post that I might try out a mild stability shoe for a bit more arch support. Well I ended up purchasing a pair of Newton Motion.

After reading several reviews about these shoes I quickly found out that runners either LOVE these shoes or HATE them.  I decided that breaking them in slowly like Newton and my sales person suggested.  My first experience with the shoe was a slow 1 mile run on my treadmill.  I noticed during this run that my left foot was having a hard time relaxing into the movement.  It was tensing up right around the forefoot area where the shoe is raised.

I laced up the shoes a second time for a moderate 1.5 miles again on the treadmill.  My right foot didn’t bother me too much during the run, but afterwards I felt like my forefoot was bruised again right where the bottom on the show is raised.  At the time I was wondering why my foot hurt not realizing it must be the new shoes.

For my 3rd and final run I ventured outside for a 2 mile road run.  I felt ok while running, but the bottom of my right foot continued to feel bruised for a few days after.  I finally made the connection that it must be the Newtons.

One week after purchasing these shoes I headed back to the store where I got them and easily exchanged them for another pair (Saucony Mirage 3).  If they were already giving me problems after just 5 miles I didn’t want to continue to experiment with this shoe.  I’m super thrilled that my right foot feels fine since I haven’t used these shoes for my past few runs.  I feel lucky that I didn’t love the Newton shoes since they would cost me a fortune to replace them every 300-500 miles.  I feel like my search for the perfect shoe is a never-ending journey.

Have you found your perfect running shoe?

This entry was posted in injuries, running, shoes. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Short Affair With Newtons

  1. my husband is a fickle shoe guy. he has been a runner for a long time, and hasn’t found the shoe he likes the best. he buys a new kind every single time he buys new shoes… although… and i think maybe i got him to switch over to my brand… he has been pretty happy with the brooks ravenna. i run in those, and i have since they first came out. i love them and find them to be the shoe that just does it for me. he ran in newtons for a cycle, and he liked them…. i don’t know. they seem like not enough shoe for me, and you’re absolutely right…. i’m SO glad that i don’t love them and my husband didn’t either, because we’d probably have to sell our youngest to afford to keep running in them. yikes. happy running!!

Leave a Reply

