Run for Boston 5K

This Saturday I’ll be volunteering at the Run For Boston 5K in Libertyville. Katie of Live Half Full had an idea to put on a race that would benefit the victims of the Boston Marathon bombings. The idea took off with the help of the Chicago Running Bloggers community and Muddy Monk Trail Running. They reached their goal of obtaining enough sponsorship so that 100% of the race fees will be donated to the Who Says I Can’t Foundation, which supports the rehabilitation of those who lost limbs as a result of the terrorist attack at the Boston Marathon.

online registration is still open and you can still register race day. You can also run virtually as well as make a donation. And I’m sure they would take more volunteers too. Check out the website; it’s not too late.

I’m not sure what my volunteer assignment will be, but I plan to help wherever I’m needed. This will be my first “meet-up” with the Chicago Running Bloggers so I’m excited to meet the people whose lives I’ve been reading about for the past year. So here’s an apology in advance if I act all star struck when meeting all of you blog stars.

This entry was posted in Races. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Run for Boston 5K

  1. Declan says:

    I’d react the same way meeting the famous bloggers (aka all of them)! Great job signing up to volunteer!

Leave a Reply

