Rested and Running Again

IMG_3051I can hardly believe there are only six days until the Chicago Marathon.  It seems like just yesterday that I was on my computer desperately trying to get my registration to go through.  When I received my confirmation I was so thrilled that I could have peed my pants.  I’m seriously still that excited to take on the Chicago Marathon this weekend.  My friend threatened to show up at mile 21 with a sign that says “Are you still so excited that you could pee your pants?”  Sounds like exactly what I will need to see when I am that deep into the race.

Unfortunately an injury to my ankle and another to my toe put a damper on my training.  So what does one do when they can’t “train” for a marathon according to plan?  After being sidelined for a week I still felt hurt so I signed up for a gym membership. I found a Groupon for $10 for one month at a local gym.  Luckily this trial membership will last me until this Thursday.  I have been able to keep up with my cardio conditioning by utilizing the stationary bike and the elliptical machine.  I also continued do go to my boot camp class but I modified many of the exercises and eliminated all activities that included jumping.  And let’s not forget my yoga study, which was a tremendous help.  The one leg balancing poses required in yoga have really helped to strengthen my ankle.

I had to take three solid weeks off of running.  I missed 3 long runs (17, 20 and 21 milers), which unsettled me greatly.  Eventually I was able to start running again.  I eased in with 3 miles on the treadmill and then switched to either the bike or elliptical, which I did two days a week.  My first “long” run back was a 6 miler.  Each week I upped my long run milage by 2 miles.  My longest run since the injury debacle has been only 10 miles.  I’m glad I was able to run one 18 miler before I was sidelined.  I have been joking that I have been tapering for the last 7 weeks.  Okay it’s no joke; it’s pretty much true.

I have not had any flare-ups recently.  I am confident that I did the right thing by taking time off from running even though it was during the high milage part of the training.  I am pretty sure I wouldn’t be healthy enough to run my upcoming marathons if I hadn’t proceeded the way I did.  That’s not to say it was easy.  I had lots of emotional ups and downs.  I was super scared to start up running again becuase I was afriad to find out that I would still feel pain.  It was hard to let go and give it a try.  For a while I was feeling like a marathon training fraud.  Thankfully I have an amazing group of friends that I run with who supported me every step of the way and encouraged me to rest and get healthy.

I have run a marathon before, but this is my first “official” marathon.  I’m freakin’ excited.    Let’s cross our fingers and hope that my ankle can take me to the finish line.

This entry was posted in Exercising, injuries, running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Rested and Running Again

  1. That is a really strong mental accomplishment and dedication! I’m dealing with the – should I have rested more or did I do the right thing during this taper week now!

    Stay stable and strong this week!

  2. Brooke says:

    good luck!! i’ve done 2 marathons, and i think the training is the hardest part. made even harder for you by your injury. hope you can enjoy the product of your hard work!

Leave a Reply

