2014: What’s in store

I know it’s been forever since I have posted.  It’s a bit frustrating for me since I do have a lot to write about.  It’s just that my time has been allocated a bit differently the past month or so.  I hope that I can make a comeback and start to post a bit more regularly.  If you’re still here reading, thanks for sticking around.

I have began to plan this year’s race schedule a bit haphazardly. I’ve been registering for races that my friends will be running.  I have also corralled a few friends to sign up for some races that I had my eye on.  This is my plan for 2014 so far.

Arbor Day 10K on April 13, 2014: I am excited to run this race because it was canceled last year (2013) due to flooding in the area.  This race was my first and only 10K race (2012).  I am excited to kill my old time and set a new PR.  I also talked at least 2 of my running friends into joining me for this one.

Great Western Half Marathon May 4, 2014: This race holds my half marathon PR (1:58:27).  I signed up for this race because it is a nice smaller sized race, it’s on a flat limestone trail and a handful or more of my friends are running too.

Fox Valley Marathon/Half Marathon/Fall Final 20 September 21, 2014: I’m not sure which distance I will be running since this is my marathon place holder if I do not get into the Chicago Marathon, which if you haven’t heard is a lottery system this year.  This race falls on the 20 miler week of Chicago Marathon training, so I will probably run the 20 Miler if I get into Chicago.  Otherwise, this will be my alternate fall marathon.  I cannot imagine missing out on Chicago, but we shall see.  I have never run this race before, but I have heard great things from other members of my running club.

I am not committed to any other races yet, but I have been tossing around the idea of doing my first sprint triathlon, but that’s another blog post. I’d also like to sprinkle in a 5K or two and see if I can get under 24 minutes and set a PR, which will require some speed work  on my part.  I can tell you for sure that I will not be running two marathons 3 weeks apart ever again.  The most I will commit to will be two, one in the spring and one in the fall.  Who knows my pack might run another personal marathon sometime this April.  The plans for that are a bit sketchy though.

What’s your race plan for 2014.  Is it set or are you still pondering your choices?

Cute keychain my SIL gave me for Christmas.

Cute keychain my SIL gave me for Christmas.

This entry was posted in Races. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2014: What’s in store

  1. I love Fox Valley! A really well-done race with a great medal.

Leave a Reply

