Caffeine Rocks

photoStarbucks had this amazing deal this past “Black Friday” where you buy a special cup for $75 plus tax and during the entire month of January you have the ability to use the cup to order  unlimited espresso drinks.  I bought my husband a cup as a Christmas gift, but who was I kidding?  I used that cup too.  A LOT.  There was no way I was going to miss out on this luxury.

I actually ended up drinking a latte every day and some days I even went back for a decaf in the evening.  I also made it my mission to try every “skinny” drink they offered on the menu.  Why not broaden my latte drinking horizons.  I found that I really like the skinny cinnamon dolce latte and the skinny hazelnut lattes.  Yum.

I have never been a consistent coffee drinker.  I would treat myself to a latte once a week and on occasion twice if I had an urge.  I would also mostly order decaf.  That’s not to say I didn’t enjoy every drop.  It was just a treat and never a fuel for me.

However, during the month of January I was able to feel the magic of caffeine.  When I would drink my caffeinated lattes before a workout I would notice a dramatic increase in my stamina.   I could power through a hot yoga session or a 10 mile run with barely any fatigue.  I experienced a nice energy boost throughout my work days too.  Needless to say this was a welcome side effect.

Now that January has come to an end I am back to my usual latte drinking schedule.  Not because I don’t want that energy boost, believe me I do. But mostly because paying $4-5 for a latte every day is cray-cray.

But DAMN coffee/caffeine is awesome.

Are you a regular coffee drinker?  Does it help get you through your day?  your workouts?

This entry was posted in Diet. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Caffeine Rocks

  1. kelsnsher says:

    I LOVE coffee but you’re so right I don’t get ti that often b/c it just way to expensive. I do brew it at home sometimes too which cuts down on costs, but the shops just do it so much better lol

  2. Anne says:

    I might have to start making some at home. My husband has an espresso machine. But how will I recreate the flavors?

Leave a Reply

