Anticipating my first sprint triathlon

Next weekend I will be participating in my first official outdoor triathlon. I’ll be joining a friend while we both tackle our first Espirit de She triathlon in Naperville, IL.

I have mixed feelings about this whole experience. I did not follow any sort of training plan. I’m so green to the sport of triathlon that my first training steps included getting in a pool and buying a bike. I’ve got the running part covered, but this swimming and biking thing has really challenged me. I’m not sure that I can actually swim 700 meters without stopping or ride my bike without breaking it. Just this morning I fell off my bike again.

I kept my running on track like I unusually do with 2 shorter runs and one long run each week.
I added one day of Masters swim class, which turned out to be a lot more like small group lessons (thank god) and I biked one or two days a week. Usually one outside ride and one inside on the trainer. I only completed 2 bike/run bricks and continued to do my Bikram and vinyasa yoga as well as strength training. Let’s hope all that will be enough.

I’m physically strong, but not sure I’m triathlon strong/prepared/trained. The crazy thing is I’m not (yet?) overwhelmed with anxious feelings about doing something new for the first time. I’m more curious to see how this will all turn out. I know for certain when I cross the finish line I will feel proud and accomplished no matter how fast, slow or beat I’ll be when I get there.

Here goes nothing!

20140531-092410-33850059.jpg

20140531-092410-33850301.jpg

This entry was posted in Biking, Races, running, Swimming, Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Anticipating my first sprint triathlon

  1. Jill says:

    All the best! You will rock it, I am sure! 🙂

  2. Good luck. Have fun and enjoy it

  3. You’re going to do great!!!

  4. Anne says:

    Thank you Katie. I read your recap from last weekend and I was inspired.

Leave a Reply

