Race Anxiety

IMG_5735

My list. Am I forgetting anything?

I HATE packing for trips. I’m quickly becoming aware that prepping for a triathlon is a bit too much like packing for a vacation. Only when I get to my triathlon I can’t go to the nearest Target and buy what I forgot. This fact makes packing my tri bag a level higher on my anxiety scale than packing my bag for a vacation.

In situations like this I wish I could be laid back and go with the flow, but instead I fall back on my usual strategies to help stay as even keeled as possible . First, I do my research. I read blogs for advice, ask my experienced friends and chat on Twitter/FB to gather all the tips I can.

Then I ask myself, what’s the worst that can happen if I forget something? I play a little game of worst case scenario and it helps me realize that even the worst case is not going to kill me. I will come out the other side alive.

IMG_5728

The pile up pre pre-organization

I also prepare like a crazy person as much in advance as possible. I think through step by step what I will need and then I make a list. I lay out everything on my dresser and highlight (so I can still read the list when I double and triple check) the items that are waiting to be packed.

Finally I get everything I can ready the night before. I’ll get my bike on the car, pump up my tires, pack my tri bag and set out my breakfast items.

I hope to have everything ready by 6pm tonight so I can go out for a bite to eat with my husband and take an evening stroll around our local outdoor mall in search for a dress for my friend’s wedding next month. I’ll take my usual race eve sleeping pill 8 hours before my planned wake up time and crawl in bed fairly early with an episode of Orange Is The New Black (Woo hoo! Season 2 BTW).

The best laid plans people, the best laid plans. I’m super excited and extremely nervous. I haven’t felt this much pre race excitement since my first 5k! Wish me luck…

My practice transition

My practice transition

This entry was posted in Clothing, Race prep, Races, Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Race Anxiety

  1. Good luck! Can’t wait to hear about it!

Leave a Reply

