2014 Chicago Marathon Charity

Run4ALS_LogoLockUp_web.ashxIt is no secret that I’m running the Chicago Marathon this year. I had such an amazing experience last year that I didn’t want to leave it up to chance that I would get to run it again this year. Instead of putting my name in the lottery I instantly signed up to run for team Run4ALS, which represents the Les Turner ALS Foundation.

Now I’m no stranger to fundraising for this cause. If you’ve been reading my blog for a while you may already know that I ran on team Project ALS in the NYC Marathon last year. If you want to know more details about why this cause is so important to me you can catch up here, but the short story is that I lost my cousin, Frank, to ALS (more commonly known as Lou Gehrig’s disease, ) 10 years ago. I’ve been on a mission to help ever since.

IMG_5807Over the past ten years I’ve done letter writing campaigns, walks, benefit recitals and now another marathon to help raise money for a charity close to my heart. The Les Turner ALS Foundation has not only been a leader in research but also offers patient care and awareness about Lou Gehrig’s disease. They can use our help.

I am lucky, lucky to help, lucky to run for those who cannot. Please spread the word about this worthy cause. I’m super close to my $1000 goal and could use your help to get me over the hump!

http://lesturnerals.kintera.org/faf/donorReg/mobileDonorPledge.asp?ievent=1099196&lis=1&kntae1099196=7F176A9D5DA44589AE9A283EA5232789&supId=402750108&team=0&scWidth=320&extSiteType=

Are you running for a charity too? Leave your link in the comments to help spread the word.

This entry was posted in About me, Races, running. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2014 Chicago Marathon Charity

  1. Looking forward to reading more about your training for a sub-4 marathon. 🙂

  2. Pingback: Baking for my charity | Found Myself Running

  3. Pingback: Upcoming Races | Found Myself Running

Leave a Reply

