Christmas in July Races?!

8007_706628909382282_628933530_nYes, you heard me, Christmas in July Races at Lisle Community Park in Lisle, Illinois. I have been hearing about this race for a while now since my friend, now running coach, has been training for the 24 hour race. What?! Yes, a 24 hour race. You do not have to be that crazy though because this race has many offerings. A Fun Run, 5K, 10K, 6hour, 12hour and 24 hours are the races you can choose from. This is a 2 day event (July 18-19) centered around a Wellness Expo where you can browse vendors promoting fitness and nutrition related products/services.

I’m super excited about this event for a couple of reasons. I haven’t run a 5K in over 2 years and I know I have a PR in me. This race is also close to my home and I love all of the conveniences that come with racing near home. And it’s a bonus that there is a Wellness Expo to peruse before and after the race.

Do you want to join me? You can register for any of the races now and get 10% off by using the code FOUNDRUNNING10 or you can enter the giveaway for a FREE entry for the 5K/10K or $65 off of one of the timed events (6 hour, 12 hour, 24 hour). To enter the giveaway please leave a comment mentioning which race distance you’d like to do and why. You can get a bonus entry if you also “like” my Facebook page and leave a note in the comments that you did so.

See below for details about the event:

  • Fun run (kids races) are FREE and all participants will receive an AWESOME medal, a t-shirt, a bib. 2 runs – Friday night and Saturday night 30 minutes before 5K/10K.
  • Evening races on both Friday and Saturday nights: 5K – Friday at 8:00, 10K – Saturday at 7:30 PM.  You will receive a cotton/poly wicking t-shirt, a tech hat and a medal too!
  • Ultra timed events, All start on Friday night kicking off with 24 Hour from 10 PM – 10 PM Saturday; 12 Hour 11:00 PM – 11:00 AM, and 6 hour 12 AM – 6 AM.
  • Ultras – no DNF – run as much or as little as you like! All participants get an award plus get cotton/poly wicking shirt AND hoodie!
  • Fully stocked aid station with meals served for ultras. Water, electrolyte drink, and snacks at the 5k/10k aid station.
  • Wellness Expo:  Go “like” Runners4Wellness Facebook page  and check them out on Twitter @Runner4Wellness.

CiJMedal

I will leave the giveaway open until Wednesday July 9, 2014. Shortly after I will randomly pick a winner so that I can allow the winner time to register before online race registration closes on July 13th.  Good Luck!

This entry was posted in giveaway, Races, running. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Christmas in July Races?!

  1. Kristin says:

    Such a cool event!!! XOXO!!!!

  2. Such a cool event! 24 hour race?

  3. Anne says:

    Checking to see if you want this comment to count as an entry in the giveaway?

  4. Jill says:

    I would like to do the 10k! I had an injury and have been building myself back to my old distance and this sounds like a fun race for it!

  5. Jennifer says:

    I’d like to run the 10K. I need to do a 6 mile race that day,and I like that its a night race.

  6. Violet Rucci says:

    Hi there, I would love to do the 6 hour race because I am in dire need of a challenge plus I would love to see how much mileage I can log in that time frame. It’s also super cool that it would be at night!

Leave a Reply

