Christmas in July 5K Race Recap

IMG_6140I was lucky to be offered a free entry to the Christmas in July Races in return for promoting the race on my blog and social media.  I jumped at the opportunity because the race site is about 2 miles away from my house.  And everyone knows how much I love the convenience of a race close to home. There were several races to choose from (5K, 10K, 6, 12 & 24 hours).   I chose the 5K, because I thought it would best fit into my marathon training plan.

Since I am only running 3 times a week my coach, Amanda, turned this race into my speed workout for the week.  I ran an easy 2 mile warmup to the race site.  I picked up my packet and did the usual preparations while I waited around for the race to start. 

IMG_6129As the race time approached and everyone started to gather at the starting line I noticed this was going to be a pretty small race (92 runners in all).  I started right up front and took off after the count down.  I bet I went out too fast for the first 1/2 mile, but I eventually settled into my best pace for those 3.1 miles.  My coach’s instructions were to run somewhere between a 7:15 and 7:30 pace, but that was just not happening for me.  My splits ended up being 7:32, 7:44, 7:44 and 0:56.  I pushed myself as hard as I could the entire race.  I was glad I had earphones on because I know I was breathing annoyingly heavy.  Sorry to those around me who had to listen to my panting.  

IMG_6134Despite not meeting my pace goal for the race, my efforts were good enough for a new PR (by 35 seconds) and 3rd place female overall!  I was upper stoked to get an award, which until this year I never thought would be possible for me to do.

I loved this race. Okay so I usually love ALL the races, but there was easy race day packet pickup, plenty of parking, friendly/helpful volunteers and chip timing.  This race was also the most swag-a-licious race I have ever run.  I got a medal for finishing the 5K,  a t-shirt and a hat.  Besides the race choices I mentioned above there was also a kids fun run both nights.  The kids races were free and each participant received a bib, t-shirt and medal.  I hope this race grows next year.  The more the merrier.  Ho ho ho!

This entry was posted in marathon training, Races, running. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Christmas in July 5K Race Recap

  1. Jason says:

    This is amazing! This may be the first time I’ve ever seen races ranging from 5k to 24hr at one event. Wow, very cool!! Great job with your race and congrats on the PR and 3rd place!

  2. kilax says:

    Awesome! Congrats on the PR and 3rd overall! And yay for getting a medal. That’s always fun 🙂

  3. Pingback: Christmas in July Races 2015 Giveaway!! | Found Myself Running

  4. Pingback: Upcoming Races | Found Myself Running

Leave a Reply

