Baking for my charity

IMG_4916If you’ve been reading my blog for a while you probably know I’m running the 2014 Chicago Marathon for Run4ALS, which supports the Les Turner ALS Foundation.  I started fundraising back in March when I first registered for the race.   I wanted to ask people at work for donations, but I felt like I needed to offer something in exchange.  That’s when I decided to bake batches of cookies or brownies for contributions.  

When I was in grad school I took a part time job as a baker for a local coffee house.  My friend was the current baker and was quitting the job so she offered to train me before I filled her position. I love to bake.  I love everything about it.  I enjoy making things, tasting things, tweaking recipes and starting the process all over again.  It also makes me happy to share my goodies with others and hopefully hear feedback about how yummy everything tastes.  I always bring my baked good to work so everyone had taste tested my creations and was willing to donate for a batch of something yummy.  

I was able to raise about $400 towards my $1000 fundraising goal by baking for my coworkers.  I am only $22 from my goal.  Maybe I need to start baking again.  If I can bake for you let me know. If you can make a donation to help those with Lou Gherig’s disease or just spread the word I would greatly appreciate it.

http://lesturnerals.kintera.org/faf/donorReg/donorPledge.asp?ievent=1099196&lis=1&kntae1099196=81023B197C0647DC9FEC8F4502B2CA50&supId=402750108

Do you have a creative way you fundraise for your race charity?

This entry was posted in marathon training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baking for my charity

  1. Jason says:

    That’s a great idea to raise money!

Leave a Reply

