Recipe: Homemade Chocolate Chip Granola

IMG_5184A while back my neighbor Monkia from The Little Backyard Farm sent me home from her house with a container of her homemade granola.  I’ve got a good thing going because if I send over a container with cookies or some other baked good she never sends it back empty.  This is how I scored some of her delicious chocolate chip granola.  So delicious in fact that I kept shoveling it into my mouth spoonful after spoonful, no milk needed.

Of course I had to get my hands on the recipe and recreate this granola.  Luckily she shared the recipe not only with me, but with her blog readers too.  I am sure this is her most popular post with just the hits from my visits alone.  Before I made it the first time Monika mentioned a few alternations that I should make because she has been tweaking the recipe since she first published her post.  I made her changes as well as a few of my own (I wanted to cut down on calories a bit so I lessened the brown sugar and chocolate chips) to come up with the perfect chocolate chip granola recipe ever.

First preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Next, mix the following dry ingredients into IMG_5260a bowl.

4 cups old fashioned oatmeal
1/2 cups of mini-chocolate chips
1/2 cup unsweetened coconut
1 cup sliced almonds
1/4 cup brown sugar

 

At first I thought it was weird to put the chocolate chips in the mixture before baking and not after, but this actually makes the chocolate melt so that it sticks to the oats.  I also have tried both full sized an mini chocolate chips and the mini ones spread throughout the granola mixture much better.  This way there is chocolatey goodness in every bite of granola.

IMG_5263The next step is to mix the following liquid ingredients.

3/4 cup coconut oil
2 tablespoons vanilla extract
2 tablespoons organic raw honey

 

I place the coconut oil in a Pyrex measuring cup and melt it in the microwave.  Do not substitute the coconut oil.  I believe this is the secret ingredient that makes this granola stand out from other recipes that call for butter or other oils.  The coconut and the chocolate tastes complement each other perfectly.

IMG_5264Mix the liquid and pour it over the oat mixture so it coats it as well as possible.  I use my stand mixer, but you can do it by hand pretty easily.  I divide the mixture in half and spread it evenly onto two jelly roll pans.

Put the granola into the oven and bake for 15-20 minutes. I start with eight minutes.  Then I pull out the pans and stir the granola with a spatula.   I place the granola back in the oven and switch the shelves.  I let it bake for another 8-10 minutes.

After pulling it out of the oven the final time I stir the granola again before letting it cool.  Once it is cool I spoon the granola into my containers.

I’ve started making this granola in double batches.  I place one container in my refrigerator and the other in my freezer so I’ve got one I can eat immediately and on waiting and ready when I run out and need another fix.

IMG_5185

Do you have a favorite “healthy” homemade snack?

 

 

This entry was posted in Diet, Recipes. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Recipe: Homemade Chocolate Chip Granola

  1. I am all about very easy and quick recipes and this is just perfect. As for the honey, can I use agave? I don’t use honey and don’t plan to buy any just for this recipe. But if I have to then I will.

Leave a Reply

