#ALSicebucketchallenge ACCEPTED!

I’m thrilled by how much exposure ALS charities are getting due to the #ALSicebucketchallenge.  I’ve been supporting two different ALS charities for years since my cousin (at the age of 28) was diagnosed with Lou Gehrig’s Disease.  I’ve done letter writing campaigns, walks, recitals and now I’m on my second marathon in support of the ALS community.  It looks like my next endevour is the #ALSicebucketchallenge.  After reading Becky from Olives ‘n’ Wine‘s post yesterday I was inspired by her challenge.  She has promised to donate $5 to an ALS charity for each person who participates and tags her blog fan page in their #ALSicebucketchallenge video on Facebook.  Challenge accepted.

I’m doing the #ALSicebucketchallenge in memory of my cousin Frank who died 10 years ago from this horrible disease.  If he was with us today he would be so totally into dumping a giant bucket of ice water on my head.  I’m also dedicating this gesture to all caregivers, families and PALS (people with ALS) who are persevering through the hardships this disease inevitably brings. My thoughts and prayers go out to them.    

 

 

Now I challenge my readers to take the #ALSicebucketchallenge and/or donate to the cause to help find a cure.  There are several organizations that I am familiar with that you can support.  First, I will shamelessly plug my marathon charity The Les Turner ALS Foundation.  And feel free to check out  any of the other ALS charities below. 

Have you participated in the #ALSicebucketchallenge?

This entry was posted in About me. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to #ALSicebucketchallenge ACCEPTED!

  1. olivesanwine says:

    I love this!! I cannot wait to watch your video. I’m sorry to hear about your cousin – know that we’re all supporting this research so others don’t have to go through the same disease in the future. xo

Leave a Reply

