Marathon training, marathon training…

IMG_4767I have five more long-runs left before the Chicago Marathon.  That seems doable (insert deep breathe here).  I only have two intimidating long run distances to tackle before then. One twenty miler coming up this Sunday and another 20 miler on September 21st. I will be doing the Fox Valley Final 20.

Last year at this time I was on a running break because I had hurt my ankle very badly.  I remember coming home from my 18 miler and not being able to put any weight on my foot.  I took 2 weeks off from running, started back and was still hurt.  I took another 2 weeks off (for a total of 4 weeks off during the peak of marathon training)  then started back slowly.  Luckily I was able to run both the Chicago and New York Marathons without my ankle flaring up.

This year I vowed to do things a little differently in order to avoid being condemned to injury jail.  I decided to stick to a 3 day a week running plan and I got myself a running coach (yeah Amanda!).  So far things have been going well.  I have normal aches and pains from running which I have kept at bay by continuing my yoga practice, taking advantage of the post run massages my running club offers (also scheduling my own) and scheduling necessary visits with Dr. Dan, my awesome chiropractor.  Any time I feel like an injury might be rearing its ugly head I  get right on it.  I’m foam rolling and stretching on the regular and calling in my reserves to get some extra help when something bugs me the slightest bit.

I really want to complete this entire marathon training program from start to finish without being injured (something I have yet to accomplish).  I’ve been a little anxious because my two 20 mile monkeys are still hanging on my back.  I’ve come this far and I don’t want to mess it up.  Fingers crossed!

Do you get nervous near the end of a training cycle?  How to do you get past it?

 

This entry was posted in injuries, marathon training, running. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Marathon training, marathon training…

  1. Jason says:

    I definitely get nervous! I’m always worried that I’m going to get sick or get some type of bizarre injury LOL anyhow, you’ll be great – keep doing what you’re doing!

  2. I think you are doing great! You are definitely doing the right things to stay injury-free.

  3. superbooruns says:

    nerves are par for the course for me. deep breaths and beer! 😛

Leave a Reply

