Taper Madness

IMG_6465I made it though the thick of marathon training!  This is the third training cycle (4th marathon) that I’ve attempted.  It’s the first time that I haven’t had some sort of injury holding me back.  My goal this time was to get to the marathon strong and healthy.  I made a few changes, like only running three days a week, that helped me accomplish my goal.  Having a running coach (Amanda) has been the biggest change. I pushed myself when I was told and rested when it was prescribed.  Amanda has never steered me wrong.  She had confidence in me before I had any in myself.  She’s been there to talk me off the ledge when self doubt set in.  I trust that she has done the best for me.  I have learned a lot about what I can/cannot and should/should not do in order to train efficiently. I am ready.

I have made it to taper madness.  I am going to make the most of the lower milage weeks ahead and use the extra time for some self care.  My taper plans include a visit or two with my genius chiropractor, a sports massage and a pedicure (for the 9 toenails I still have left). Is there anything I’m forgetting?

I know some people get really antsy during taper time because they are forced to do a bit more resting than they are used to.  I however am going to embrace the lower milage easy runs, the shorter speed work and the extra time to relax and pamper myself.

How do you feel about the taper? 

This entry was posted in marathon training. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Taper Madness

  1. Looks like you are going to do great next weekend!

Leave a Reply

