A little report. It’s been a while.

Okay, okay I am still here.  It’s been an embarrassingly long time since I have posted (almost 2 months!).  If you “like” my Facebook page you know that I am around and keeping active.   Today jury duty has forced me to slow down and give me some extra time.  And yes, blogging is a wise use of this downtime.  I’ll use this moment (yes it may only be a moment because my busy life will soon take over) to let you know what I have been up to  and what is in my 2015 future.

Surprise, surprise I am in the middle of marathon training.  I will be running the Bug Sur Marathon at the end of April.  I am really looking forward to this marathon because it has been said over and over again that it is the toughest most scenic marathon out there.   I do not have any time goal for this race.  I am not doing any speed training, tempo runs etc. this time around.  I am concentrating on covering the long run miles while running shorter runs midweek and making sure hills are incorporated.  My only goal for Big Sur is to run the entire 26.2 miles in the most enjoyable way possible.  And I’m assuming that slow and steady is the best tactic.  I have a few friends who will be joining me, who I am counting on to add to the chill factor.

I signed up for an indoor triathlon again this year.  I had taken some time off from swimming after the Chicago Marathon (because I was utterly exhausted) and I needed to get back at it.  I got a trial membership at a gym for the month of January so that I could have access to a pool.  I average about 2 swim workouts a week now. I didn’t realize how much I missed it until I got back into a routine.  When I think  back to how hard it was for me to swim the length of a pool just a year ago it’s amazing to me how far I’ve come.  It’s really something to be proud of.  Now I can swim for up to an hour and hold my own.  Next weekend I will dive (pun intended I think) back into the triathlon experience. Now I am over the anxiety of trying something new so I can expend my energy on improving.  I am also signed up for the Esprit de She sprint triathlon again this June.  Lots of friends are joining me on this one too.

I’ve been super crazy about yoga lately.  I have been obsessed with adding arm balances into my practice.  I attended an arm balance workshop at my yoga studio and learned a lot.  Boy were my arms tired by the end of that 2 hour class.  I’m going to go to another workshop at the end of February and I have a game plan.  I will definitely bring a notebook and take notes so that I can be prepared for later practice.  I will also skip doing a million crow poses at the beginning because that burned my arms out for the rest of the workshop.

I’m still debating what races I will commit to in 2015.  Right now I have my fingers crossed for the Chicago Marathon.  I just HAVE to sub 4  at Chicago.  I’m sure I’ll sprinkle in some 5Ks, 10Ks and some half marathons this year but I’m not in any hurry to commit. Let’s hope that I can get back to blogging a bit more regularly, but work, family and working out take just about every spare second I have these days.  And I do have to sleep.

How do you find time to blog?

This entry was posted in About me, Exercising, marathon training, running, Swimming, Triathlon, yoga. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A little report. It’s been a while.

  1. Jason says:

    It’s not always easy! Usually, I try and squeeze blogging into my break at work. With that being said, I’ve gone from posting every day to posting two or three times per week 😛 Stick with it – your blog is great!

    • Anne says:

      I use to have some down time at work. This year that is non existent. I’m way more consistent in the summer when work it far from my brain.

Leave a Reply

