Why I’ve been missing around here

  There’s a reason why I’ve been missing around here. The truth is back in March my anxiety got out of control and depression set in hard. Many things fell through the cracks. This blog being one of those things. It took me months to realize something was off, then a couple of weeks to get up the courage to ask a therapist friend for a referral. Then once I got the referral it took me a few more weeks to finally call and make an appointment.

Without getting into too much detail describing my crazy I’ve been going to therapy weekly for a couple of months. I’m slowly getting back on track and I finally feel okay trying to add blogging back into my list of to dos.  Luckiky in the midst of my mental ups and downs I was able to keep up with my workouts. It was probably one of the only grounding thing in my life.  

This year my first race was the Big Sur Marathon, which I still need to recap.  Spoiler   alert: it was challenging yet amazing.  My next event is the Naperville Esprit de She sprint triathlon on June 14. I did this race last year and it was my first triathlon. I stressed out a lot about it and it turned out to be an excellent learning experience. I’m looking forward to participating this year in a less stressed out manner. I will also be running the Chicago Marathon in October. Maybe this year I’ll run my sub 4.

I have a lot of blog worthy things in my head and my intention is to share it all here.  So here goes nothing. 

Have you had to make a come back to blogging?

This entry was posted in About me, Exercising. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Why I’ve been missing around here

  1. Maggie says:

    I’ve had times where I had a lot going on personally and just didn’t feel motivated to blog. I completely understand 🙂 But I’m glad to hear you’ve been able to get the help you needed. It can be hard to admit when you do, but so worth it.

    • Anne says:

      It’s hard to get motivated to ask for help at first because depression/anxiety are liars. Finally I’m on track. Thanks.

  2. Melanie says:

    I have! For similar reasons actually, I decided to stop blogging, decided what I talked about wasn’t worth it… Blah blah, then I missed it and went back after about 4-5 months, so happy I did. I still go a couple weeks at a time with nothing, contemplate stopping, then get back to it, glad you are back!!

  3. glad to read that you’re getting your life back together. depression is an ugly beast. take care of yourself!

  4. veryrach says:

    Can’t wait to hear about the triathlon!

  5. Colleen @ CSmith Run says:

    I took a long blogging break when I moved and started a new job, but trying to get back into it now. Blogging actually helped me when I was in depression therapy because it forced me to write about my runs in a positive light…nobody wants to read constant negativity. So while I tried to be truthful, I tried to find the positive aspects of each workout to write about and that helped a lot 🙂

Leave a Reply

