A few things

1.  Ugh, I gained about 4 extra pounds during the few months I was struggling with depression and anxiety.  It was a combination of not really caring about what and how much I put into my body.  I enjoyed way too many treats, which was maybe a way to try and make myself feel better.  The good news is that I spent the last four weeks getting back to my consistent morning workout routine.  Previously I was unable to get myself out of bed each morning until it was absolutely necessary.  I still worked out, but crammed it into my already busy afternoons and evenings, which definitely added to my stress level.  Not only am I back to my morning workouts, but I have also been keeping track of my calories and being mindful about eating as clean and healthy as possible.  As a result I have lost 3 of the 4 pounds I gained.  I hoping within the next couple of weeks I can reach and maintain my ideal weight.  I wanted to start out this marathon training season without those extra four pounds.  I’m so proud to be back on the right track.

Esprit de She 2014

Esprit de She 2014

2.  This weekend I will be doing my second outdoor triathlon, The Naperville Esprit de She.  I’m excited to join several of my friends as they tackle this one as their first.  It’s nice to be on the other side this year knowing what to expect.  My anxiety level was a 10 plus/10 last year and this year I’m more like a 5/10.  Last Saturday was the first time I had been on my bike (I was mostly on the stationary bike at the gym) since last year and I was super nervous about getting in and out of the pedals.  I was fearful of falling.   After riding with friends for 18 miles last Saturday I realized I just needed to get out and do it.  It was not as bad as my mind had made it out to be.

3.  I am running the Chicago Marathon again this year for charity.  I will be joining the Les Turner ALS Foundation team in hopes to raise money for a cause near to my heart.  I did not get into the marathon via the lottery this year.  I was thrilled to find out that Run For ALS was willing to welcome me back. My goal again this year is to sub 4.  I missed my goal by under 2 minutes last year and struggled with those results.  I’m honestly a little nervous to start working hard towards that goal, but I know I have it in me.Run4ALS_LogoLockUp_web.ashx

Are you running any races for charity?

This entry was posted in Diet, Exercising, marathon training, Races, Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

