Upcoming Races

IMG_5697Last year was my year of PRs.  I PR-ed in every distance (5K, 10K, 10 mile, 13.1 & 26.2) I ran.  This year I’m not so sure I can keep up.  I have already told myself I will not sign up for as many races as I did last year.  That would mean I have to keep it under 8 races.  I want to take a more relaxed approach and maybe save some money on race entries this year.

In 2015 I have two races behind me and three on the horizon (maybe I’m not doing so good on the run less races thing).  You can read my recaps from the Big Sur Marathon here and the Esprit de She Naperville Triathlon here.  The following races are still to come.

1.  Strike Out ALS 5K on Tuesday July 14 at 6:30pm.  I won an entry to this race from Maggie at Mag Mile Runner.  I rarely win anything and definitely nothing as cool as a race entry, so I’m thrilled.

2. Christmas in July 5K or 10K  on July 17 & 18 in the evening.  I have a giveaway up until June 22nd if you want to take your chances and win a free entry (5K or 10K) or $75 off one of the ultra events.  I still have yet to decide which distance I’ll run.  I will probably wait until the last minute to make my decision.  I had a great experience at this race last year coming in at 3rd place woman overall and securing a new 5K PR for myself.  Check out my giveaway for this race.

3.  Chicago Marathon on October 11th I will be aiming to run my first sub 4 hour marathon.  I am running again this year for the Les Turner ALS Foundation.  I have to raise $1000 and I am a bit worried that I will not raise my goal amount.  This is the 3rd year in a row I have run for an ALS charity (NYC Marathon 2013 and Chicago Marathon 2014).   I feel that I may have tapped out my donors by now.

If all goes well I will have run 5 races in 2015.  Two of those races were complimentary so they don’t count in my run less races/spend less money pact I have with myself.

How may races do you usually run in a year?  Have you run for charity and if so how do you raise the money to meet your goal?

This entry was posted in About me, charity, giveaway, Races, Triathlon. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Upcoming Races

  1. Cool shadow photo. Best to you in all your races with the goal of enjoying the experience.

  2. Colleen @ CSmith Run says:

    My racing really varies year to year but I’d say around 5 races. This year I’ve done 2 so far (a half and a full) and I plan to do a 5k in a few weeks, the Chicago Marathon, and I’d like to get in a half again before or after Chicago.

    I did Chicago in 2013 for a charity, and pretty much just raised money through friends and family, but if I was going to do a charity again, I’d try to come up with another way so I’m not always hitting up people for money!

Leave a Reply

